Sexuality….

PPO BLOG PIC 2

PPO PIC 1

PPO PIC 3

PPO PIC 4

PPO PIC 5

PPO PIC 6

Greetings Beloved Warriors!

My views are just that, mine. I am still learning, as we all are, about this broad topic of sexuality and sexual orientation. For something that’s supposed to be simplistic in its natural form, it sure does go through a complex weave of explanations and unfortunate consequences.

LESBIAN & GAY ADOLESCENT-IDENTITY DEVELOPMENT by Ryan & Futterman
“Sexual activity is a behavior …sexual orientation is a component of identity (p. 10).”
This statement/phrase stood out to me as it implied a separation of what one does sexually to who one is sexually attracted to. To me, it seems that these two qualities are one in the same. When one is sexually or romantically attracted to another, the natural process of things is for them to be physically/sexually involved with that individual. Then I was able to read further and take it from a different angel keeping the adolescent stage in perspective. As a teenager, I feel that experimenting, not just with sex/sexuality, is a part of finding out our identity and purpose in life. Yes, there are teenagers who have had sexual encounters with the same sex out of curiosity and peer influences (e.g., truth or dare games, spin the bottle, etc.). Then there are teenagers who are ahead of their times, in terms of their intelligence and maturity level, that have always known who they are and did not see it as an “experiment” phase, be it their sexual identity/orientation, career goals, gender roles, etc. I was that teenager and I never had doubts about who I was attracted to or to the qualities I was attracted to. I did not separate my sexual activity with my sexual orientation. They were one in me and they still are. I resonated and gravitated towards qualities of that individual that stood out to me; be it their style, the way they spoke and what they spoke of, their creativity, intelligence, and overall their human qualities.

Bisexuality appears to come after heterosexual identity (p. 10).
Okay another interesting concept that I have not heard before as well. My first attraction was towards a female in 7th grade. My next attractions varied between boys and girls (with boys coming on strong the scene during my 10th grade year). Interestingly enough and lately, I have been attracted and attracting feminine energy and qualities in the form of a female/woman/girl. I say that because energy has no gender limitations. Gender actually loses its effects/influences when you reach to other forms of dimensions. I want to make the point that the attraction that I am currently feeling is due to the energy I am yearning and putting out as well. That is not to say I am limited to embracing the masculine energy as well, be it in the physical form of a man or woman. As stated in the reading, “…many people engage in bisexual behavior without self-identifying as bisexual (p.16).”

Disclosures
I have never had an issue with having to “come out” or defend my sexuality. It was and will always be a part of me that I embrace fully. I never felt the need to consciously and directly let people know about that. I never hid it too; most of my friends knew me well and had no problems seeing that as a small part of my whole being. I found it interesting to see the lack of research on bisexuality. This lets me know that we like to just pin point to categorized sets of things and not take this topic for what it truly is, a continuum whether you end up with the same sex, both sex, or no sex at all.

About Ynav

Greetings Beloved. Thank you for visiting my blog. I am passionate about the arts, specifically, dancing and writing poems. I am currently on a journey of discovering and experiencing healing dances, such as Dance Meditation, Biodanza and Dance Meditation. I am also working on my first poem book and other artistic projects. I was born and created to dance since the inception of my being in my mother’s womb. My bedroom has always been my stage and my mirrors my audience. I am now on a journey to release my birth given art and talent to the universe. I dance to bring my inner being peace, calmness and also to bring these same feelings to other fellow beings. I love the art of expressing your deepest and truest emotions through the movement of your body. I thank you mother nature and father universe for allowing me to share such a gift, for I am present now to introduce such an art to your universe. Dancing has always played an integral part in my life when I needed that extra boost in my esteem, that release of mental and emotional tension, and when I wanted to feel alive. I was also aware that when I danced in social settings, it brought other’s joy and a sense of calmness. I started to analyze and put two and two together and discovered that when I dance, I not only bring that same feeling into my body and psyche but that I affect others with it. Gratefully, Ynav
This entry was posted in BODY/HEALTH, RELATIONSHIP/SEXOLOGY, SPIRITUAL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sexuality….

  1. Ynav says:

    Reblogged this on DanCer's PassiON and commented:

    Sexuality…MY perspECTIVES….

Leave a Reply

